Rittenhouse Internal Medicine receives highest level of quality recognition as a Patient Centered Medical Home (PCMH)

What does this mean to you as our patient?

The National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) sets specific standards for primary care practices to use in organizing care around patients, working in teams and coordinating and tracking care over time. Rittenhouse Internal Medicine facilitates a relationship between each patient and their personal physician.

Primary Care Practices must encompass the following criteria in order to meet NCQA standards:

  • Access and communication
  • Patient tracking and registry functions
  • Care management
  • Patient self management support
  • Electronic prescribing
  • Test tracking
  • Referral tracking
  • Performance reporting and improvement; and advanced electronic communications.

Achieving PCMH recognition from NCQA is a source of pride for medical practices. According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, there are 230,187 primary care practices in the U.S. Of those practices, only 8,344 or 3.6% of practices, are a NCQA-recognized Level 3 site. Patients receiving care from a recognized PCMH get comprehensive, well-coordinated care; ease in making appointments; and short waiting times to see a physician. They develop personal relationships with their healthcare team. Their medical information is collected and stored electronically for instant access, chronic conditions are closely monitored; follow-up is frequent and self-management skills are taught and supported by the physicians. Practices will offer convenient online access for prescription refills and referrals as well as offer direct email for appointment requests. The referral process to visit specialists is smooth and information transfers immediately.

The NCQA standards consist of must-pass elements considered essential to the PCMH. These elements are required for practices at all recognition levels. Practices get points for each element of the standards they have accomplished. NCQA awards levels of recognition from the scores that practices achieve, with Level 3 being the highest.

One specific element to receive NCQA certification is ease of communication through a patient portal, which our patients may request.


Our patient portal is available for secure emailing, referral requests and refill requests. Please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.   to request your patient portal username and password.

NCQARittenhouse Internal Medicine™ has received the highest recognition from the National Center for Quality Assurance (NCQA). What this means for our patients

Begin Your Journey to Total Wellness

Sign up to learn more about Rittenhouse Women’s Wellness Center™
Please select a location
Please enter your name
Please enter a valid email address
Invalid Input

Invalid Input